
The short version: In our read of 25 states, only Arkansas, North Dakota and Pennsylvania let home food vendors sell across state lines under their own law, and 15 say outright that cottage food stays in the state. Inside your own state, 12 of the 25 let you send exempt home food by mail or a parcel carrier, 5 ban mail and carriers for food made for people, 1 allows it only for inspected home kitchens (North Carolina), and 7 don't say. Once a box crosses a state line, federal food law applies on top of your state's rules, and meat in that box must come from a plant USDA approves for interstate sale. If shipping nationwide is the plan, a licensed kitchen is the reliable path; if you sell locally, all 25 allow some form of face-to-face sale, at your home, a market or by your own delivery, depending on the state.
Checked on each state's agency page or statute, October 1, 2026: the full list with sources is in the table below. Laws change every legislative session (Minnesota's in-state shipping starts August 1, 2027), so verify your state's current rules before you mail anything. Homegrown handles pickup and delivery up to 25 miles; it does not ship packages, customers create a Homegrown account to place a first order, and there is no countdown drop feature.
One of the most common questions cottage food vendors ask is whether they can ship their products to customers. The answer is more complicated than it should be, and getting it wrong can put your whole business at risk.
This guide explains the shipping and delivery rules for cottage food in plain language. It covers why sending food across state lines is usually off-limits, which states allow in-state shipping or only hand delivery, what changes for pet treats and meat, and what your options are if you can't ship at all.
A few words first. Cottage food means food you make in your home kitchen and sell under your state's home food law, usually without a commercial kitchen or a routine inspection. Shipping means handing the box to the Postal Service, UPS, FedEx or another carrier. Delivery usually means you, or someone in your household, hand it to the customer yourself.
Ready to start selling locally? Take orders and get paid online in about 15 minutes. Set up a Homegrown storefront for $10 a month with 0% commission, or compare the best platforms to sell food from home.
Usually not: 15 of the 25 states we checked say, in their law or agency guidance, that cottage food may only be sold inside the state, and just 3 allow out-of-state customers under their own law. This is the most important rule to understand, and it catches new vendors off guard.
Here's why: Cottage food laws are state laws. They exempt you from your state's food business rules (commercial kitchen requirements, licensing, inspections) so you can legally sell food made in your home kitchen. Fifteen of the states in this guide say the exemption stops at the state line, often in plain words. New Jersey's rules bar delivery "in interstate commerce, that is, outside of the State of New Jersey." California defines a cottage food sale as "a transaction within the state." Maryland's guidelines say "Interstate sales or sales outside of Maryland are prohibited."
The moment your food crosses into another state, two more sets of rules come into play. Federal food law covers food in interstate commerce, and the customer's state has its own rules about food made in an uninspected kitchen. Your home state's exemption does not travel with the box.
The exceptions: Three states in our read let home food vendors sell to out-of-state buyers under their own law:
Florida is a fourth case: its statute lets cottage food go by mail without saying in-state or out, and the University of Florida's extension fact sheet reads that as permission to ship "across state lines."
The bottom line: Unless you live in one of those states, plan on keeping cottage food inside your state. Even in those states, the receiving state's rules and federal labeling rules still apply. If you want to sell food nationwide, by mail or through an online marketplace, you will almost certainly need to operate as a licensed food business, not a cottage food operation.
Interstate shipping is different because two governments get a say once food crosses a state line: the federal government and the state the box lands in. Understanding the structure helps the rules make sense.
How cottage food laws work: Your state created an exemption that says, essentially, "If you meet these requirements (certain food types, a revenue cap, labeling rules), you don't need a commercial kitchen or a food manufacturing license to sell food here." That exemption exists only under state law, and the states in this guide mostly wrote it for sales inside their own borders.
What triggers federal rules: When a product moves across state lines, it is in interstate commerce, which the federal government regulates under the Commerce Clause of the Constitution. The FDA enforces the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, which bans adulterated and misbranded food in interstate commerce and sets the federal label rules. Your state's cottage food protections don't change any of that.
What federal law actually asks of a small vendor: It is narrower than many articles suggest. Three pieces matter most:
Your cottage food permit doesn't travel: Think of your state's exemption like a parking permit that's only valid in one city. It works where it was issued and means nothing in the next city over. To the customer's state, food from your uninspected kitchen may count as food from an unapproved source, whatever your own state allows.
The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA): FSMA added federal requirements for food businesses. Its preventive controls rule has a lighter track for a "qualified facility," which 21 CFR 117.3 defines as a very small business (under $1,000,000 a year in human food sales, adjusted for inflation) or a facility that sells mostly to consumers and nearby stores and restaurants with under $500,000 a year in total food sales. A qualified facility still files an attestation with FDA every 2 years, and the exemption doesn't simply extend cottage food status to interstate sales.
Arkansas, North Dakota and Pennsylvania are the only states in our 25-state read that allow out-of-state sales under the state's own law, and Florida's extension service reads Florida's law the same way. Another 4 states leave it unclear, and the other 17 either say no outright or don't allow mail and carriers at all.
Here is how the 25 split on out-of-state sales:
A state that allows out-of-state sales only speaks for itself. The customer's state can still treat your box as food from an uninspected kitchen. Arkansas's own guide tells home vendors to "contact the United States Food and Drug Administration as well as the state and local public health authorities prior to any sale out of state."
Twelve of the 25 states in this guide let exempt home food go by mail or a parcel carrier to a customer inside the state, and 5 ban mail and carriers for food made for people. Each state's cottage food law defines where and how you can sell, and those rules range from very flexible to very restrictive.
States generally fall into four groups when it comes to shipping and delivery inside the state:
These 12 states let cottage food vendors send products to customers inside the state by mail or a commercial carrier. North Carolina also allows shipped products, but it runs an inspected home-kitchen program instead of a cottage food exemption, so we count it separately. Pennsylvania runs the same kind of program, but its pages don't name mail or a carrier for in-state orders, so it sits with the states where the rules don't say. Some exemption states, like Washington and Georgia, also inspect the kitchen once before they issue the permit.
These states let the vendor (or a household member) personally deliver products to the customer, but don't allow shipping through carriers:
The key distinction: in these states, you handle delivery yourself rather than using a shipping service.
Some states require every cottage food sale to be a face-to-face exchange. In these states, you may be able to take an order online or by phone, but you can't put the food in the mail, and the hand-off has to happen in person.
Two states in our read work this way:
Virginia worked this way until July 1, 2026, when HB 402 (Chapter 605 of 2026) opened up phone and internet sales with delivery "in person, by mail, or by delivery service." If your state requires in-person sales, you're limited to your own hand delivery, pickup, farmers markets, events, farm stands and similar venues.
Seven states in the table don't say whether a parcel carrier counts for an order inside the state. Six of them also limit sales to the state, and Pennsylvania allows sales across state lines:
If you live in one of these states, call the agency and ask before you mail anything.
Cottage food laws change often, and at least 7 states in this guide changed their shipping or delivery rules between 2025 and 2027 or scheduled a change in that window. Several states update their laws every legislative session, and the trend is mostly toward more flexibility: Virginia added mail and online sales on July 1, 2026, North Dakota dropped its interstate ban in 2025, Indiana's new homestead vendors may ship inside Indiana from July 1, 2026, and Minnesota's in-state shipping starts August 1, 2027. Tennessee opened up some refrigerated (TCS) foods on July 1, 2025, but only for in-person sale by you or your agent. Arizona's rule, published February 28, 2025, requires in-person delivery for TCS foods, on top of the statute's two-hour transport cap, and Texas's SB 541, in force since September 1, 2025, added TCS foods that "must be stored and delivered" at safe temperatures. The groups above reflect what each state's page or statute said on October 1, 2026, but always verify your state's current law before making business decisions. Your state's department of agriculture or health department website will have the most up-to-date rules. If you can't find a clear answer online, call your state agency directly; a 10-minute phone call can keep you from accidentally breaking a rule that could cost you your cottage food status.
Here is every state we checked, with what each one allows inside the state and across state lines. Every row links to the page or statute we loaded on October 1, 2026.
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| State | Ship inside the state by mail or carrier? | Sell to customers in other states? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Yes for shelf-stable foods; dairy, meat, poultry and TCS foods must be delivered in person | No: "only offer cottage foods for sale and delivery in Arizona" | A.R.S. 36-932; ADHS rule, 2025 |
| Arkansas | Yes, "third-party carrier (mail, parcel post, etc.)" | Yes, if you comply "with all federal laws" | ADH Homemade Food Guide, May 2026 |
| California | Yes, "via mail delivery" or a third-party delivery service | No: a direct sale is "a transaction within the state" | CDPH cottage food page; H&S Code 113758 |
| Colorado | Not stated; delivery method agreed with the buyer, inside Colorado | No: Colorado sales only | CDPHE Cottage Foods Act page |
| Florida | Yes, by USPS or commercial mail delivery | Statute silent; UF/IFAS says "across state lines" | FDACS; F.S. 500.80; UF/IFAS FS425 |
| Georgia | Not stated; online sales allowed | No: cannot "ship cottage food products across state lines" | Georgia Dept. of Agriculture guide |
| Illinois | Yes, shelf-stable foods only, tamper-evident seal | No: "shall not be shipped out of State" | 410 ILCS 625/4 |
| Indiana | Yes, with shipping records kept one year | No: may not ship "to an end consumer who is located outside of Indiana" | Home-based vendor FAQ; Indiana Department of Health memo, May 2026 |
| Maryland | Yes, "by mail delivery" in the state | No: "Interstate sales or sales outside of Maryland are prohibited" | MDH guidelines, 2025 |
| Michigan | Not stated; internet and mail order sales allowed, delivery platforms named | No: "may only be sold or delivered within Michigan" | MDARD selling page |
| Minnesota | No for human food until August 1, 2027; pet treats yes | Pet treats not prohibited; other foods must be handed over in person; pickles and other acidified foods stay in Minnesota | MDA guidance |
| Nebraska | Yes, shelf-stable foods by USPS or commercial mail | Unclear: statute silent, extension FAQ answers both ways | Neb. Rev. Stat. 81-2,280; UNL FAQ |
| Nevada | No: in-person transactions only | No mail or carriers at all | NRS 580.600; SNHD FAQ |
| New Jersey | No: not by postal mail or a common carrier | No: not "outside of the State of New Jersey" | N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 |
| New York | Not stated; home delivery and internet sales inside New York | No: "Shipping products out of state is not permitted" | NY Agriculture and Markets |
| North Carolina | Yes for inspected home processors; shipped products need a label | Not addressed | NCDA&CS home processor page |
| North Dakota | Yes; the 2025 law removed the mail ban | Yes since 2025, except poultry | N.D.C.C. 23-09.5; SB 2386 |
| Ohio | Not stated | No: "may only be sold in Ohio" | ODA fact sheet, Feb 2023 |
| Oklahoma | Yes, shelf-stable foods by parcel delivery service | Unclear: statute mentions interstate under federal law; OSU says Oklahoma only | HB 1032 (2021); OSU FAPC-242 |
| Pennsylvania | Not stated for orders inside the state; PDA's application packet sets labeling rules for products "being shipped / sold in interstate commerce" | Yes; "you may also need FDA registration" | PDA LFE page; PDA LFE application packet |
| Tennessee | Yes, shelf-stable foods by third-party carrier; temperature-controlled foods in person only | No: covers only "intrastate sales made within this state" | Public Chapter 862 (2022); PC 431 (2025) |
| Texas | No: online orders must be personally delivered | No mail or carriers at all | Texas DSHS |
| Virginia | Yes since July 1, 2026, by mail or delivery service | No: not "across state lines" | VDACS FAQ, July 2026 |
| Washington | No: "prohibited from shipping product" | No: not "outside of the state" | WAC 16-149-040 |
| Wisconsin | Not stated | No: a license is required for "food sold outside of Wisconsin" | DATCP; UW-Madison tip sheet |
We loaded every source on October 1, 2026. "Not stated" means the source doesn't say whether a parcel carrier counts for a sale within the state. Pennsylvania and North Carolina run inspected home-kitchen programs instead of a cottage food exemption; the other 23 run exemption or food freedom programs, and some of those, like Washington and Georgia, also inspect the kitchen before the permit. This is a summary, not legal advice; your state agency has the final word. If your state isn't one of these 25, start with its entry in our cottage food laws by state guide, then ask the agency that runs the program whether a mailed box counts as a direct sale.
Shipping cottage food inside the state, 25 states
Source: each state's agency page or statute, read October 1, 2026. 12 + 7 + 3 + 2 + 1 = 25 states.
California is one of the friendlier states for mail, but only inside its borders. The California Department of Public Health says a Class A or Class B sale "may be fulfilled in person, via mail delivery, or using any other third-party delivery service," and Health and Safety Code section 113758 defines a direct sale as "a transaction within the state." So a box to San Diego is fine from a Sacramento kitchen, and a box to Reno is not.
Sometimes, and Minnesota is the clearest example: it lets registered cottage food vendors mail dog and cat treats today, while food for people cannot be mailed until August 1, 2027. So under Minnesota's current rules you can mail pet treats but not food for people.
The Minnesota Department of Agriculture's cottage food guidance puts it directly: "Only cottage pet treats can be shipped in the mail or by commercial delivery to the end consumer." Here is what that means in practice:
Other states handle pet treats under separate rules. New York, for example, says pet foods and pet treats can be made at home "but require a separate registration." In Minnesota, one cottage food registration covers both: the MDA charges $50 a year once sales top $7,665, and nothing below that. If you make dog treats anywhere else, check your state's feed or pet food program, not just the cottage food page. Our guide to selling homemade dog treats walks through the permits.
Minnesota's in-state shipping for human food is a future date, not a current rule. Until August 1, 2027, the MDA says cottage food for people has to reach the customer in person: picked up, delivered by you to the customer's home, or handed over at another agreed-upon location "within Minnesota." Pickles, salsa and other acidified jarred foods also can't cross the state line at all.
Almost never under a cottage food law, and meat is the hardest line of all: several of the home food laws we read exclude it outright, and meat sold across state lines needs inspection under the USDA's Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS), at a federal plant or a state plant in its interstate program, no matter what your state allows.
Here is why meat is different. Meat and poultry fall under USDA, not just the FDA. FSIS says a standard state inspection program covers meat and poultry "distributed within the State," while its Cooperative Interstate Shipment program lets state-inspected meat and poultry "be distributed nationwide." A home kitchen isn't an inspected plant at all, so homemade jerky or a meat pie has no legal path into a box that crosses a state line, and many home food laws bar it inside the state too (Indiana's new homestead vendors, covered below, may be one exception for meat raised on their own property, though the Indiana Department of Health (IDOH) warns that meat pies may still fall under USDA rules). Several states say so in their own laws:
Foods that need refrigeration (called TCS foods, short for time and temperature control for safety) are the next hardest. Nebraska and Oklahoma require TCS foods to be delivered by the producer (Nebraska also says they can't be "transported for longer than two hours"), Tennessee requires them to be sold in person by you or your agent, and Arizona's statute requires in-person delivery for dairy, meat and poultry products, while its 2025 rule extends in-person delivery to TCS foods, and the statute caps their transport at two hours. Illinois says only food that doesn't need temperature control "may be shipped." Our guide to TCS foods and cottage food law explains which foods count.
Shipping cheesecake, refrigerated dairy, frozen meals or meat across state lines is almost always licensed-kitchen work (North Dakota is the rare exception: its law covers cream and cheesecake products labeled as "transported and maintained frozen," and since 2025 it bars only poultry from interstate sales, while federal and receiving-state rules still apply), and meat also needs a USDA-inspected processor or a state processor enrolled in USDA's interstate shipment program. Inside a state there are exceptions with conditions: Indiana's homestead vendors, a category added on July 1, 2026, may ship prepared foods and meat products within Indiana with a food handler certificate and sealed packaging, as long as the meat stays refrigerated, comes from animals raised on the vendor's own property and was slaughtered and processed in compliance with IC 15-17-5. IDOH also warns that cooked or raw meat products like meat pies, lasagna and casseroles "may be subject to federal regulations" under USDA inspection rules. Licensed businesses that ship perishables plan the cold chain carefully; the Homegrown guide to box and insulation choices for perishable food covers the packing side.
Online ordering and shipping are two different things, and your state may allow one without allowing the other. Texas, Washington, New Jersey and Minnesota all accept online ordering, and Nevada's largest health district allows web orders too, but all 5 states still require food made for people to reach the customer without using the mail or a shipping company.
Online ordering ≠ shipping. Many states allow cottage food vendors to take orders through a website, social media, or an online platform. The customer places the order online, but the product is picked up in person or delivered locally by the vendor. The online part is just the ordering method; the food never enters a shipping carrier's system.
This is the simplest way to sell cottage food online. You set up an ordering page, list your products, and customers in your area place orders for pickup or local delivery. You handle the hand-off personally.
Where it gets tricky: Some states define "direct sales" or "face-to-face" so narrowly that the sale itself has to be completed in person. Washington says website sales must be "completed as in-person transactions," and Nevada's statute bars "selling the food item by telephone or via the Internet," though its largest health district allows phone and online orders for in-person delivery. Texas requires that "Before the operator accepts payment," the label information is posted on your website. If your state allows online sales but requires in-person delivery, you can still reach far more customers than a booth alone; you just can't put a package in the mail.
If you're transitioning from farmers market sales to online, understanding your state's delivery rules is essential before setting up your online storefront.
If your state keeps cottage food local, the problem isn't finding buyers; it's taking orders and payments without a shipping setup or a pile of messages. Homegrown is $10 a month billed annually ($12.50 month to month) with no percentage fees beyond standard payment processing of 2.9% + $0.30 per order, which you pay, not your customer. You get 7 days to try it, with no charge until day 8.
What it does for a vendor who can't ship:
Compare that to the two options cottage food vendors try first. Etsy is built around shipping to buyers anywhere in the country, which clashes with the state-line limits in the table above, and it charges a $0.20 listing fee, a 6.5% transaction fee and 3% + $0.25 payment processing on a US order. Taking orders by Instagram DM and Venmo has no subscription, but you track every quantity, payment and pickup by hand.
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Option | Subscription | Trial | Platform fee | Payment processing | Customer pays on a $20 order | Vendor pays on a $20 order | 50 orders a month, vendor's total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homegrown | $10/mo billed annually, or $12.50/mo monthly | 7 days, no charge until day 8 | $0, 0% commission | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by the vendor | $20 plus any delivery fee you set | $0.88 | $54 (annual billing), $56.50 (monthly) |
| Etsy | $0; some new shops pay a one-time set-up fee | No plan to try | $0.20 listing + 6.5% transaction | 3% + $0.25 per US order | $20 plus any shipping you charge | $2.35 | $117.50 |
| Instagram DMs + Venmo business profile | $0 | No plan to try | $0 | 1.9% + $0.10 per payment | $20 | $0.48 | $24, with every order tracked by hand |
We checked each fee on Homegrown's signup page, Etsy's Fees and Payments Policy and payment processing help page, and Venmo's business profile page on October 1, 2026. Math: Homegrown $0.58 + $0.30 = $0.88 per order; Etsy $0.20 + $1.30 + $0.60 + $0.25 = $2.35; Venmo $0.38 + $0.10 = $0.48. Fifty orders: $44 + $10 = $54 on Homegrown, $117.50 on Etsy, $24 on Venmo. Etsy figures assume one listing fee per sale and no shipping charge; Etsy's 6.5% and 3% also apply to any shipping you charge. The Homegrown row assumes a pickup order; a delivery fee you set goes to you. Sales tax is left out.
What Homegrown does not do: it does not ship packages or handle out-of-state orders, it does not check your recipes against your state's list, and it does not track your state's sales cap for you. Customers create a Homegrown account to place their first order. Your storefront is listed on the Homegrown marketplace, but plan on most orders coming from people you send to your own link. There is no countdown "drop" feature for timed releases.
In a pull of the Homegrown catalog on October 1, 2026 (2,748 products from 308 vendors), 25 listings used a word like ship, shipping or mail in the name or description (we matched carrier names like UPS only as capitalized whole words, so a candy called "Monster Mash Ups" doesn't count). We read each one, then every other listing from the same 9 vendors: 6 food listings from 2 bakeries say outright that there is no shipping, and a pasta maker marks 2 more of its listings "pick up only." Another 9 food listings from 3 vendors offer to ship the order, and one jelly listing asks out-of-state buyers to pay the shipping by Venmo. The other 10 were a book, a stuffed toy, and listings that used the word in passing, like microgreens described as fresher than produce "shipped across the country." A separate search for "mailbox" found a freeze-dried candy maker that puts a must-be-home-for-delivery note on all 67 of its listings, because the candy "cannot be left outside or in a mailbox."
Ready to sell locally the way your state allows? Set up a Homegrown storefront and send your regulars one link for pickup and delivery orders.
Shipping when your law doesn't allow it can cost you your cottage food status, and a box that crosses a state line puts federal food law and the customer's state on top of your own. In 15 states from our table, a sale across the line breaks the home state's rule before federal law even comes into it. The consequences depend on whose rule you break.
Shipping within your state when your law doesn't allow it:
Shipping across state lines when your state doesn't allow it:
The practical reality: Enforcement against very small cottage food vendors mailing a few packages is uncommon. But "uncommon" doesn't mean "safe." A single customer complaint, a foodborne illness report, or a competitor's report to regulators can trigger an investigation. And once regulators start looking, they don't just address the shipping; they review your whole operation. The risk isn't worth it when legal alternatives exist.
If you can't ship your cottage food products, you still have several ways to reach more customers. Every state in our read allows some form of direct sale to the customer: a market or event, pickup at home, or a delivery you make yourself, depending on the state.
Set your delivery radius by drive time, not miles. If your state allows refrigerated foods at all, Nebraska and Arizona both cap transport at two hours, so a 25-mile radius that turns into a 70-minute loop on a Saturday leaves little room for a late stop. Batch deliveries by neighborhood and give each customer a one-hour window instead of an exact time.
To legally ship food you make to customers in other states, you either live in one of the few states whose law allows it and follow federal rules, or you move production into a licensed kitchen. Overnight shipping or a friend driving it across doesn't change the law; the rule is about where the food is sold and delivered, not how fast it gets there.
If you outgrow those limits, a licensed or shared commercial kitchen removes the cottage food limits entirely. Our guide to renting versus buying a commercial kitchen covers the costs.
A shipped cottage food package needs the same label your state requires at a market, a tamper-evident seal where your state asks for one, and any federal labeling that applies once it leaves the state. The label requirements differ by state, so here is what the sources we read call out for shipped boxes:
Our cottage food labeling requirements guide covers the state label itself.
If your business is growing and the shipping limits are holding you back, that's a good problem to have. It means there's demand for your product beyond what cottage food allows. For most vendors, the next step is a licensed kitchen, which removes the in-state limit that 15 states in this guide put in writing.
Signs you might need to move beyond cottage food:
The path forward: Moving from cottage food to a licensed food business usually means a commercial kitchen (your own or a shared, rented space), the food manufacturing license your state requires, and meeting all federal and state food safety requirements, including FDA's preventive controls rule for human food if your facility has to register with FDA. It's a bigger commitment, but it removes the shipping and selling limits.
If you're starting a cottage food business, it's worth thinking about your long-term goals. If you know you'll want to ship nationally someday, build your brand and recipes under cottage food rules while you plan the move to licensed production.
It depends on your state. If your state allows in-state shipping, like California, Florida or Virginia, you can sell on Etsy and ship to customers inside your state, but 15 of the states we checked bar out-of-state sales outright. Etsy's buyers are spread across the country, so you would have to turn away most of them. If you want to sell on Etsy with nationwide shipping, you'll need to operate as a licensed food business.
Usually not, because only Arkansas, North Dakota and Pennsylvania, among the 25 states in this guide, allow out-of-state buyers under their own law, and federal food law and the customer's state apply once the box crosses the line. If you want to ship cookies nationally, a licensed kitchen and proper labeling are the reliable route.
Usually yes: 21 of the 25 state sources we loaded mention delivery to the customer in their pages or statutes, and the other 4 (Georgia, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin) don't address it on the pages we read. Some states limit how the food gets there: Texas requires you, an employee or a household member to make the delivery, Minnesota requires you to deliver it yourself, New Jersey bans the mail and common carriers, and Nevada and Washington require the hand-off to be in person. Check your state's cottage food law for the specific delivery rules.
At least 21 of these 25 states say you can accept orders over the web or by phone, but what "online sales" means varies. In some states, like Illinois, Tennessee and Virginia, you can take orders online and ship inside the state. In others, like Texas and Washington, you can take orders online but must deliver in person or have customers pick up. Check your state's cottage food laws for the current rules on online sales.
Under the laws we read, "shipping" means sending a product through a mail carrier or delivery service (USPS, UPS, FedEx). "Delivery" usually means the vendor personally brings the product to the customer. New Jersey, for example, allows delivery inside the state but not "By United States postal mail or a common carrier." If your state says cottage food can be "delivered" but doesn't mention shipping, you likely need to handle delivery yourself rather than dropping packages at the post office.
Having an LLC doesn't change your cottage food shipping rules. An LLC is a business structure that protects your personal assets; it doesn't give you any food safety exemptions or override your state's cottage food limits. Whether you operate as a sole proprietor or an LLC, the same rules about shipping, delivery and where you can sell apply.
Under a cottage food law, only if your state's law allows out-of-state sales and you meet federal rules, which in our state-by-state read means Arkansas, North Dakota or Pennsylvania (Florida's extension service reads its law the same way). From a licensed kitchen, yes, in any state, once you meet federal rules and the receiving state's rules. Shelf-stable baked goods like cookies and bread are the easiest to ship legally; cream-filled or cheesecake-style products that need refrigeration usually can't be shipped under most cottage food laws.
If you're working out where and how you can sell, these guides pick up where this one stops:
_This article is for informational purposes and does not constitute legal advice. Cottage food laws and shipping rules vary by state and change often. Check your state's current cottage food law for the rules that apply to your situation._
_An ordering page built for local food vendors supports pickup and delivery orders that work within your state's cottage food rules._
