
The short version: For home granola vendors who sell close to home, the best platform to sell granola online is a storefront where local customers order and pay ahead, then pick up from you or get it delivered nearby. Homegrown does that for $10 a month billed annually ($12.50 billed monthly), with no commission and no fee added to your customer's order. On a $20 order you pay $0.88 in card processing on Homegrown, about $0.88 to $0.92 on Hotplate's default setting (your customer also pays a $1.55 fee), and $2.55 on Etsy in listing, transaction and processing fees. Shipping is a state question before it is a platform question: of the 10 state cottage food pages we read, 4 allow mail or carrier delivery inside the state (two of them with conditions), 4 do not, and 2 do not say, so check your state before you pick a platform that ships.
Checked on each company's pricing page and each state's cottage food page, October 14, 2026: Homegrown, Hotplate, Etsy, Shopify, Square and Venmo fees, and the cottage food rules for Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, Texas and Washington. Homegrown customers make an account before their first order, Homegrown has no drops feature and no shipping, and card processing is paid by you.
If you want local customers to order your granola ahead, you can set up a Homegrown storefront and try it free for 7 days.
The best platform to sell granola and dry mixes online for home producers who sell locally is Homegrown, which gives you a flat-rate storefront where customers order, pay, and pick up locally through one shareable link. Granola, trail mix, baking mixes, and spice blends are light and need no refrigeration, which makes them easy to pack, store and hand over. Many home granola vendors sell through farmers markets, word of mouth and, where the state allows it, local stores, and in 9 of the 10 states we read, the law keeps a home-kitchen bag inside the state, requires an in-person hand-off, or both. The platform you choose should handle local pickup ordering first and offer enough flexibility to list your full product line.
Granola and dry mixes need an online ordering platform because the hard part is not making the bags, it is getting them to customers between market days. Granola is easy to make in batches and easy to bag ahead. But many granola vendors sell at one or two weekly markets, and the bags that do not sell sit in a pantry while the clock on their freshness runs.
That clock is short. Sealed and kept at room temperature, homemade granola is at its best for roughly a week to two: the University of Minnesota Extension's granola recipe says to store it "for up to two weeks," and a pecan granola recipe published by West Virginia University Extension says "up to 7 days." Our guide on how long homemade granola lasts walks through both numbers and when to freeze.
Here is what many granola and dry mix vendors deal with:
An online ordering platform turns your granola inventory into an always-available menu. Customers see what you have in stock, order what they want, pay upfront, and pick up at your next market or a scheduled pickup time. You move bags faster because you are not limited to booth hours, and you bake closer to the day each bag goes out.
The tipping point is often holiday gifting season. If customers start asking for gift packs of your granola, or if you regularly bring home unsold bags from the market, a platform pays for itself by cutting the days a bag sits and capturing orders you are currently missing. At Homegrown's price of $10 a month paid yearly, or $12.50 paid month to month, two 8-ounce bags at the $10 starting price in our granola pricing guide cover the plan either way. Each bag keeps about $7.54 after $0.59 in card processing and the roughly $1.87 it costs to make in the example batch from our guide to selling granola from home.
Yes, all 10 states we read allow granola orders online in some form, though the Washington and Georgia FAQs each also carry an answer that points the other way, so confirm with those two states, and Colorado does not name granola on its list. Whether you can ship the bag depends on the state. Four of the 10 let a home-kitchen product go by mail or carrier inside the state (Arizona and Michigan with conditions, covered below the table), four require an in-person hand-off, and two do not say. Florida's statute allows mail without naming a boundary; the other 9 limit sales to buyers in the state, require an in-person hand-off, or both.
That one fact decides more about your platform than any fee. If your state requires an in-person hand-off, a platform built around shipping solves a problem you are not allowed to have.
Swipe the state table sideways for all five columns.
| State | Granola named on the state's list? | Take orders online? | Ship by mail or carrier inside the state? | Sell to buyers in other states? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona | Yes, "Granola (Various flavors with nuts and dried fruit)" | Yes, "only to addresses in Arizona" | Yes for foods with no dairy, meat or poultry, by "a third-party carrier" | No: "only offer cottage foods for sale and delivery in Arizona" |
| California | Yes, on the approved foods list | Yes, by phone, internet or "any other digital method" | Yes, "via mail delivery" or a third-party delivery service | No: a direct sale is "a transaction within the state" |
| Colorado | Not named (nuts, seeds and baked goods are); ask the state | Yes | Not stated for mail; the page says products must be "delivered directly" to "an informed end consumer," and the delivery method is agreed between you and the buyer, so ask the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) before you mail a bag | No: "may only be sold in Colorado" |
| Florida | Yes, "Cereals, trail mixes and granola" | Yes, on your website | Yes, "by United States Postal Service or commercial mail delivery service" | The statute does not say |
| Georgia | Yes, "Cereals, Trail Mixes, and Granola" | Yes, to end consumers within Georgia under HB 398, though another answer in the same FAQ says "Sales must be person-to-person," so confirm with the Georgia Department of Agriculture | Not stated directly; cities and counties may not stop commercial delivery companies from delivering it | No: interstate sales can bring FDA oversight, and that license "cannot be issued for foods prepared in a domestic kitchen" |
| Michigan | Yes | Yes, if the buyer can talk with you first, face to face or by video | Yes, by mail order, with the same condition | No: only "to a consumer in this state" |
| Minnesota | Yes, "Granola, cereals, trail mixes" is on the non-potentially hazardous foods list the department's page links (the list is not owned by the department) | Yes, but the food is handed over in person | No, until August 1, 2027, when shipping within Minnesota is allowed | No shipping; the hand-off happens in person in Minnesota |
| New Jersey | Yes, "Granola, Cereal, and Trail Mix" | Yes, orders and payments | No: "not allowed to send products through common carriers" | No: the hand-off happens in New Jersey |
| Texas | Not named; Texas allows any food except a short banned list, and granola is not on it | Yes, with your label information posted before payment | No: you, an employee or a household member must hand it over in person | No: the statute allows internet sales "in this state" only when you personally deliver the food |
| Washington | Yes, "Cereals, trail mixes and granola" | Yes, you can "take orders over the Internet," though another answer in the same FAQ lists Internet sales among those prohibited, so confirm with the Washington State Department of Agriculture | No: "You cannot ship Cottage Food Products by mail or a courier service" | No: "Internet, mail, consignment, wholesale, & retail sales outside the state are prohibited" |
We read each state's own page or statute on October 14, 2026: the Arizona Department of Health Services cottage food program and A.R.S. 36-932, the California Department of Public Health page and Health and Safety Code 113758, Colorado's CDPHE, Florida's Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) and Florida Statutes 500.80, the Georgia Department of Agriculture FAQ and its HB 398 FAQ, Michigan's MCL 289.4102, the Minnesota Department of Agriculture and the non-potentially hazardous foods list it links (last revised September 14, 2026), the New Jersey Department of Health FAQ, the Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) and Texas Health and Safety Code 437.0194, and the Washington State Department of Agriculture.
Three details in that table trip people up:
These rules are changing. Minnesota's page says of the revisions taking effect August 1, 2027, "Shipping will be allowed within Minnesota," and Colorado's page announces a new cottage food law (the "Tamale Act," HB26-1033) that begins January 1, 2027. We checked all 10 state pages on October 14, 2026. Verify your state's current rules before you ship a single bag, and if your state is not in the table, our guide to shipping cottage food by state covers 25 states.
If you are in a state that requires the hand-off in person, the question you are really asking is how to take orders online and hand bags over at your porch, your booth or the buyer's door. That is the job a pickup-first storefront does.
We compared six platforms granola and dry mix vendors use: Homegrown, Hotplate, Etsy, Shopify, Square Online, and Venmo for the simplest setup. Each one matches a different selling pattern, and the right pick depends mostly on whether you hand bags over locally or ship them.
How we ranked them: we put local pickup and delivery first, because this guide is written for home kitchens that sell close to home, and because Minnesota, New Jersey, Texas and Washington all require an in-person hand-off. Then we compared what each platform costs you on the same $20 order. Homegrown publishes this blog, so weigh our first pick with that in mind and check the fee numbers yourself; every one links to the company's own page.
Homegrown is an online storefront built for local vendors who sell through pickup or local delivery. You list your granola products (classic granola, trail mix, pancake and muffin mixes, spice blends, granola bars, dry soup mixes) with bag sizes, prices, and descriptions. You set pickup locations and time windows. Customers browse, order, pay, and choose when to pick up.
Here is what Homegrown includes for granola vendors, from the rows its signup page marked "Included" on October 14, 2026:
The pricing advantage for granola vendors is clear. The cost example in our home granola business guide works an 8-ounce bag out to about $1.87 in ingredients, pouch and label, and our granola pricing guide puts $10 on the sign. On Homegrown, your $10 bag reads as $10 at checkout, plus any sales tax that applies. No commission is taken, only card processing at 2.9% + $0.30 on each order, which is $0.59 on a one-bag $10 order. On Etsy, that same bag would cost you $1.40 per sale: a $0.20 listing fee, a 6.5% transaction fee ($0.65) and 3% + $0.25 in payment processing ($0.55).
Pros:
Cons:
Best for: Home granola and dry mix vendors who sell at farmers markets and through local pickup. If you produce more bags than you can sell at a single market and want a way for customers to order between markets, Homegrown handles that.
Start your Homegrown storefront and take your first granola orders this week.
Hotplate is built around drops. Its pricing page defines a drop as "a preorder window with a clear start and end time," and includes a countdown timer, automatic SMS alerts and reminders, and waitlists. There is no monthly subscription. Hotplate charges a fee of 5% + $0.55 on the subtotal, which is $1.55 on a $20 order, and you pay card processing of 2.9% + $0.30.
Who pays that $1.55 is up to you. The pricing page says you can "pay it yourself or pass it on to customers," calling it "your choice." By default it goes to the customer: Hotplate's own post, "What Hotplate does", says "we charge a fee to your customer" and "80% of Hotplate chefs keep the default as-is."
So on a $20 order under the default, your customer pays $21.55 and you pay about $0.88 to $0.92 in card processing. If you cover the fee instead, you pay $2.43 and your customer pays $20.00. Hotplate's "What Hotplate does" post describes pickup; neither it nor the pricing page mentions shipping.
Best for: Granola vendors with a following who like to announce a weekly batch, open orders for a set window, and sell out. Our Hotplate alternative guide compares the two platforms in depth.
Etsy works for granola vendors who ship gift-packaged products, where your state permits it. Granola is light, needs no refrigeration and is not fragile, so it packs easily. Gift bags, sampler sets, and seasonal flavors fit Etsy because its buyers come looking for handmade gifts. Etsy charges a $0.20 listing fee (renewed at $0.20 each time an item from a multi-quantity listing sells), a 6.5% transaction fee on the item price plus shipping, and 3% + $0.25 for payment processing. Its Fees & Payments Policy adds a possible one-time shop set-up fee and a 15% fee on orders its offsite ads bring in, which shops under $10,000 a year can opt out of.
The catch for a home kitchen is the buyer's address. Etsy's marketplace reaches buyers in every state, and among our ten states only Florida's statute names no boundary for mail orders. Selling across state lines can bring federal rules into play, so ask Florida's Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) before you take an out-of-state order. Everywhere else, an order from another state is one you cannot fill from a home kitchen, so decide how you will handle it before you list.
Packing granola is cheap. Uline's kraft stand-up pouch with a window (item S-22248, 8 ounces, heat sealable, with a zipper) comes to under 30 cents per pouch when you buy a full carton (details in the packaging section below). Postage depends on the weight and the distance, so price a filled pouch at the post office before you set your shipping charge.
Pros:
Cons:
Best for: Granola vendors whose state permits mail delivery and who make specialty or gift-worthy flavors packaged for the mail. Our Etsy fees breakdown for food sellers shows where every cent goes.
Shopify makes sense for granola businesses that need shipping, subscriptions and a full website in one place. Shopify Basic is $29 a month billed yearly or $39 billed monthly, with card rates from 2.9% + 30¢ online (premium cards run 3.5% + 30¢) and a 2% fee on each sale if you use a payment provider other than Shopify Payments. New stores can try it for 3 days, then pay $1 a month for 3 months.
A subscription model fits granola well, because customers eat it on a schedule. Shopify's own Shopify Subscriptions app is listed as free in the Shopify App Store, and it lets customers subscribe to orders that renew weekly, monthly or yearly. Shopify also handles local pickup and local delivery as settings under Shipping and delivery, according to the Shopify Help Center, so you do not need a higher plan for them.
For a part-time granola vendor selling a few dozen bags a week locally, Shopify is more platform than needed. Across a month of fifty $20 orders, Shopify Basic billed yearly costs you $73.00, against $54.00 on Homegrown billed annually, because the card fee is the same and the plan is $19 higher.
Best for: Established granola businesses with subscription models, mail orders where the law permits them, and wholesale accounts.
Square Online connects your online ordering to the Square reader you may already use at your booth. The Square Free plan is $0 a month, and online card payments on it cost 3.3% + 30¢, which is $0.96 on a $20 order. Square Plus is $49 a month per location with online payments at 2.9% + 30¢ and a 30-day trial. Square lists pickup, local delivery, and shipping as online store features included in any Square plan.
Best for: Granola vendors who already use Square at markets and want one system for booth and online sales. Our look at the Square Online free plan covers what the 3.3% rate adds up to.
Venmo is the no-storefront option: customers pay you through a Venmo business profile after they message you an order. A payment to a business profile costs you 1.9% + $0.10, which is $0.48 on a $20 order. Your customer pays nothing extra, even with a credit card: Venmo's help page says people who pay a business profile by credit card "will be exempt from the standard 3% Venmo fee."
What Venmo does not do is take the order. There is no product list, no inventory count, and no pickup schedule, so you track flavors, quantities and pickup times in your messages. It works for 5 or 10 regulars and starts to slip once you have 30 orders and 4 flavors to keep straight. Our guide to personal vs business Venmo for food sellers covers which profile to use.
Best for: Vendors testing whether anyone will order between markets before paying for any platform.
Counting card processing and platform fees together, on a $20 granola order you pay $0.88 on Homegrown plus the plan ($10 a month on yearly billing, $12.50 on monthly), about $0.88 to $0.92 on Hotplate's default while your customer pays $1.55, $2.55 on Etsy, $0.88 on Shopify plus a $29 plan billed yearly ($39 billed monthly), $0.96 on Square's Free plan, and $0.48 on Venmo. Here is the full fee stack for each, checked on each company's own page on October 14, 2026.
Swipe the fee table sideways for all eight columns.
| Platform | Monthly plan | Trial | Platform fee | Card processing | Customer pays on a $20 order | You pay on a $20 order | You pay in a month of 50 orders at $20 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homegrown | $10 billed annually ($12.50 billed monthly) | 7 days (no charge until day 8) | None: 0% commission, no shopper fee | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by you | $20.00 | $0.88 plus the plan | $54.00 ($56.50 on monthly billing) |
| Hotplate, default | $0 | No plan to try; no setup cost or contract | 5% + $0.55 on the subtotal, paid by the customer | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by you | $21.55 | About $0.88 to $0.92 | About $44.00 to $46.25 (your customers pay $77.50 in fees) |
| Hotplate, you cover the fee | $0 | No plan to try; no setup cost or contract | 5% + $0.55, paid by you | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by you | $20.00 | $2.43 | $121.50 |
| Etsy | $0 | No plan; a one-time shop set-up fee may apply | $0.20 listing fee for each item sold (two bags here) plus 6.5% transaction fee | 3% + $0.25 with Etsy Payments | $20.00 plus shipping | $2.55 | $127.50, plus 15% on any order Etsy's offsite ads bring in |
| Shopify Basic | $29 billed yearly ($39 billed monthly) | 3 days, then $1 a month for 3 months | None with Shopify Payments (2% with another provider) | From 2.9% + 30¢ online (3.5% + 30¢ on premium cards) | $20.00 plus any shipping | $0.88 plus the plan | $73.00 ($83.00 on monthly billing) |
| Square Online, Free plan | $0 | No plan to try | None | 3.3% + 30¢ online | $20.00 plus any shipping | $0.96 | $48.00 |
| Venmo business profile | $0 | No plan; no setup fee | None | 1.9% + $0.10 per payment received | $20.00, with no credit card fee | $0.48 | $24.00, with no storefront or order list |
We checked these on October 14, 2026 on the Homegrown signup page, Hotplate's pricing page, Etsy's Fees & Payments Policy and payments page, Shopify's pricing page, Square's online store plans page and Venmo's business profile fee page. Hotplate's cost to you is a range: $0.88 if the 2.9% + $0.30 card fee is figured on the $20 order alone, which matches Hotplate's own pricing example (a $30 subtotal and a $3 tip, where the chef pays $1.27), and about $0.92 if the card fee is figured on everything the customer pays, Hotplate's fee included. Monthly totals use the unrounded fee, so the top of that range is $0.925 times 50, or $46.25. Etsy figures assume the $20 order is two $10 bags from one listing, which Etsy renews at $0.20 after each item sells ($0.40 an order), and no shipping charge; its transaction fee also applies to shipping. Shopify and Square plans include more than an online store, and Square Plus costs more each month but drops the online rate to 2.9% + 30¢.
What you pay each month on 50 granola orders of $20
Source: each company's pricing or fee page, checked October 14, 2026; our math on 50 orders of $20, with card processing and any monthly plan included. Hotplate's default also adds $77.50 a month to your customers' totals.
At 50 orders of $20 a month, Homegrown costs you $54.00 while Etsy costs you $127.50, card processing included. That $73.50 a month difference is more than seven $10 bags. The lowest numbers in the chart come with trade-offs: Hotplate's default moves $77.50 a month onto your customers' totals, Square's Free plan charges 3.3% on every online order as you grow, and Venmo gives you no order list at all. How much each bag earns starts with what it costs to make: the example batch we priced for selling granola from home comes to about $1.87 a bag in ingredients, pouch and label, and the granola pricing guide puts $10 on the sign.
Square's Free plan deserves a straight answer, because it costs less than Homegrown at this volume. Its online rate is 0.4 points higher (3.3% against 2.9%), which is 8 cents on a $20 order, so Homegrown's $10 plan on annual billing only pays for itself past 125 orders of $20 a month, or $2,500 in online sales (about 156 orders, or $3,125, at the $12.50 monthly-billing price). Below that, Square Free costs you less in total, and if you already run your booth on a Square reader it is a sound pick. We still put Homegrown first for a pickup-first granola vendor because sales tax calculated, filed and remitted for you in all 50 states and a listing on the Homegrown marketplace both come with Homegrown's plan. Square also includes pickup and local delivery in every plan, so those two are not the difference.
Homegrown, Hotplate, Shopify and Square Online handle local pickup. Homegrown, Shopify and Square Online add local delivery, and Hotplate's pricing page does not mention delivery, though its changelog refers to delivery settings on drops. Etsy, Shopify and Square Online can ship. Match the column to what your state allows from the table above.
Swipe sideways to compare all six platforms.
| Feature | Homegrown | Hotplate | Etsy | Shopify Basic | Square Online | Venmo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Local pickup | Yes, multiple locations and time windows | Yes, pickup locations and times per drop | Not built for it | Yes, "Pickup in store" setting | Yes | You arrange it in messages |
| Local delivery | Yes, 1 to 25 mile radius, your fee | Not on its pricing page | No | Yes, by radius or postal code | Yes | You arrange it |
| Shipping | No | Not on its pricing page | Yes, its core | Yes | Yes | No |
| Timed drops or scheduled releases | No | Yes, with a countdown timer | No | Not on its pricing page | Scheduled product drops on Square Plus | No |
| Inventory counts | Yes | Yes, with waitlists | Yes, listing quantities | Yes | Yes | No |
| Recurring subscriptions | Not listed on its signup page | Not listed | No | Yes, Shopify Subscriptions app (free) | On Square Plus ($49 a month) | No |
| Fee added to the customer's order | None | $1.55 on $20 by default | None, plus shipping | None, plus any shipping | None, plus any shipping | None |
From each company's own pages on October 14, 2026: the Homegrown signup page's feature list, Hotplate's pricing page and "What Hotplate does" post, Etsy's fee policy, the Shopify Help Center articles on pickup in store and local delivery, the Shopify App Store listing for Shopify Subscriptions, Square's online store plans page and Venmo's fee pages.
Choose by how the bag reaches the customer first, and by fees second. Here is how that plays out for eight granola setups:
If you bring home unsold bags from the market regularly, the issue is not demand. It is access. Your customers want your granola but have no way to buy it between market days. A Homegrown storefront gives them a link where they can order any time you have stock, pay upfront, and pick up at your next market or a time you set. Your shelf inventory starts moving between markets instead of sitting in your pantry.
Try Homegrown for 7 days, with no charge until day 8.
Your regulars should order from a link that shows this week's flavors, takes payment, and tells you exactly how many bags to bake before pickup day. Granola's short window is the reason: when you bake only what is already sold, every bag reaches the customer near the start of its 7-to-14-day best-flavor window instead of the end.
Homegrown is built for that pattern. It is $10 a month billed annually ($12.50 billed monthly) with no percentage fees beyond standard payment processing, and a week-long trial with nothing charged before day 8. Your customer pays the price on the bag, and you pay 2.9% + $0.30 per order.
What that gets a granola vendor, from the signup page's "Included" rows on October 14, 2026:
How that compares with the other options a granola vendor usually weighs: Etsy costs you $2.55 on a $20 order and is built for shipping, which the four hand-off states in our table rule out for a home kitchen. Hotplate's default costs you about $0.88 to $0.92 but adds $1.55 to your customer's order, so a $20 bag reads $21.55 at checkout. Venmo costs you $0.48 but leaves you counting flavors in a message thread.
What Homegrown does not do: it does not ship, so it is not the tool for mailing gift boxes even where your state allows it. A first-time customer has to create a Homegrown account to check out. There is no drops or countdown-timer feature, and no release date to share. There is no recurring-order feature on the signup page, so a weekly granola subscription means the customer reorders each week. The signup page also says 20% of each order is held for 30 days in a reserve balance before it is paid out. Your storefront is listed on the Homegrown marketplace, but plan your sales around the people you send to your own link. And it does not check your label or your state's rules; that part is still yours.
Your online listing should carry the same facts as your bag's label, plus how to store the granola and when to pick it up. Some states require label information online before the customer pays, and shoppers who cannot read the bag in your hand want the answers on the screen.
Three of the states we read spell out what goes online:
Build each granola listing in this order:
In a pull of the Homegrown catalog on October 14, 2026, 37 of the 2,927 listings were loose granola, from 17 of the 322 vendors. We searched each listing's name, description and options for "granola" and "muesli" as whole words, read every match, left out granola bars, and then read every other listing from those 17 vendors for granola sold only under a flavor name. None of the 37 says how long the granola keeps or how to store it. None mentions shipping, mail or delivery; the only hand-off notes we found are on 4 listings: 3 from one bakery offer "Alternate pick up locations/dates," and one farm stand's says it is "for in-store purchase only." Nothing in those listings points to shipping.
That missing storage line is the easiest upgrade on this list. A shopper comparing your $10 bag with a grocery store box that has a printed date wants to know yours will still be crunchy when she reaches the bottom.
Your customer gets fresh granola if the bag reaches her within a few days of baking, because its best-flavor window is short. The University of Minnesota Extension's granola recipe gives two weeks in an airtight container, and West Virginia University Extension's cranberry pecan granola gives 7 days.
That window shapes how you sell online:
Print two dates on every online-order bag: the bake date and a "best within 14 days" line (7 for a nut-heavy flavor). With pre-orders you bake on Thursday for a Saturday pickup, so the customer goes home with 12 of her 14 days still on the bag.
No: granola is a thin category on Homegrown, with 37 loose-granola listings from 17 vendors out of 2,927 listings from 322 vendors in our October 14, 2026 catalog pull. That is about 1.3% of listings and about 5% of vendors. We cannot tell you how many shoppers want homemade granola, because we have no count of demand. What the catalog does show is how little competition there is for a granola vendor on the platform.
Two more things stand out in the same pull:
If you already bake bread or cookies for pickup, adding two granola flavors to the same storefront is the cheapest way to test the category.
Yes, you can run a granola subscription, and the cheapest automatic version on the platforms we checked is Shopify: its Shopify Subscriptions app is free in the Shopify App Store, and Shopify Basic is $29 a month billed yearly or $39 billed monthly, plus card processing from 2.9% + 30¢. Square offers subscriptions on its Plus plan ($49 a month). Homegrown, Hotplate and Venmo do not list automatic subscriptions.
Before you pay for subscription software, check two things:
Here is what a 2-bag monthly subscription at $10 a bag ($20) costs you per subscriber per year on the fees alone: 12 orders at $0.88 is $10.56 on Homegrown or Shopify, before each platform's plan. The plan is the real difference: $120 a year on Homegrown billed annually, $348 a year on Shopify Basic billed yearly.
It depends on your state: three of our ten states allow some route into stores or cafes, Georgia has some route with conflicting guidance, and six do not under the cottage food rules. Independent coffee shops and small grocers are a natural fit for granola, so check this before you pitch one.
Where store sales are allowed, extra labeling can come with them. Arizona, for example, adds a Declaration of Responsibility and a Declaration of Quantity for products sold through a retail establishment, and its health department sends questions about them to the Arizona Department of Agriculture's Office of Weights and Measures. For the pricing side of a store deal, our granola pricing guide covers what to charge.
A resealable kraft or clear stand-up pouch with a zipper works well for online granola orders, because it closes again after the first bowl and stands up on a pickup table. Uline's kraft paper stand-up pouch with a window (item S-22248, 8 ounces, 6 x 9 x 3 inches) was $272 for 1,000 on October 14, 2026, or about 27 cents a bag. Uline describes it as "Heat sealable above tear notches" and suggests sealing with a heat sealer.
What to think about for online orders, where the customer sees a photo before the bag:
Ready to start selling locally? The easiest way to take local orders and get paid is an online storefront. See the best platform to sell food from home, or set up a Homegrown storefront in about 15 minutes ($10/mo billed annually, $12.50 billed monthly, 0% commission).
Yes, in most of the states whose pages we read: 8 of 10 name granola on their cottage food lists (Minnesota's on the foods list its agriculture department's page links), and Texas allows any food except a short banned list that granola is not on. Colorado does not name granola; it lists nuts, seeds and baked goods and asks you to contact the state if you are unsure about an item. What differs is the paperwork and the sales cap: Michigan needs no license or registration, New Jersey charges a $100 application fee for a two-year permit, and Washington's permit is $355 for two years. Annual caps we checked on October 14, 2026 include $35,000 in Washington, $50,000 in New Jersey, $78,000 in Minnesota, $150,000 in Texas and $250,000 in Florida, so check your own state's cottage food page before your first sale.
The 6 Homegrown vendors who list a 7-to-9-ounce bag charge $5 to $10 for it, with a median of $8, in our October 14, 2026 catalog pull. Our granola pricing guide suggests $9 to $12 for an 8-ounce bag, starting at $10. The example batch in our step-by-step granola startup guide costs about $1.87 a bag: $18 of ingredients for 12 bags ($1.50 each), a 27-cent pouch and a 10-cent label allowance. At $10, that is a markup of about 5.3 times your cost. Nuts are the biggest cost driver, so price nut-heavy flavors at the top of your range.
We cannot rank flavors by sales, because a listing price is not a sale, but the granola on Homegrown shows what vendors lean on. Seasonal flavors get named and marked as limited (Calli-Land Hospitality Group lists Caramel Apple and Pumpkin Spice as a "LIMITED EDITION FALL FLAVOR"), and 11 of the 37 granola listings, from 3 vendors, say they use gluten-free oats. If you make a nut-free or gluten-free version, say so in the listing and keep your allergen line exact. The FDA counts nine major food allergens, including tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and sesame.
A resealable kraft or clear stand-up pouch with a zip closure is the simplest package, in 8-ounce and 16-ounce sizes. A Uline 8-ounce kraft pouch with a window works out to roughly 27 cents apiece in a carton of 1,000, and it can be heat sealed above the tear notches. Labels follow your state's rules; Texas, for example, requires your operation's name, your address or registration number, the product's common name, the major allergens, and its private residence statement, and Arizona requires the production date. Budget for a label on top of the pouch, and test that your printer's label sticks to kraft paper.
Homemade granola tastes its best for about 7 days to 2 weeks at room temperature in a sealed bag. The University of Minnesota Extension's granola recipe says to store it "for up to two weeks," and a pecan granola recipe from West Virginia University Extension says "up to 7 days." The recipes do not tie those windows to nuts, but the working rule in our granola shelf-life guide plans a nut-heavy flavor on the shorter 7 days. Freeze sealed bags the day you bake if you need them to hold longer, such as for gift sets. Print the bake date on every bag, and see our full guide on how long homemade granola lasts for storage and thawing.
Selling granola can be profitable, because the ingredients in a bag cost a fraction of its price. Using the example batch from our granola startup guide, an 8-ounce bag that costs about $1.87 to make and sells for $10 keeps $8.13 before fees, about 81% of the price. Take out Homegrown's card processing on a one-bag $10 order ($0.59) and you keep $7.54 a bag before your time and your monthly plan. Sell 10 bags a week that way and the first two bags of the month cover Homegrown's $10 yearly-billed or $12.50 monthly-billed price.
Yes, and selling both ways reaches more customers. Bring part of your inventory to the market for walk-up sales and take online pre-orders for the rest, with pickup at your booth. A QR code on your market table linking to your online storefront lets market customers reorder between visits. Granola suits pre-orders because you can bake to the exact count a day or two before pickup. Keep the booth bags and the pre-ordered bags separate, and lower your online quantity when you sell from the same batch at the booth, so you never promise a bag that already went home with a walk-up customer.
Your granola deserves a storefront where no fee is added to your customer's order: no marketplace fees, no checkout surcharges, no commission taken from any bag, just standard payment processing at 2.9% + $0.30 per order. Homegrown gives granola vendors a shareable ordering link, built-in payments, and local pickup and delivery scheduling for $10 a month on annual billing ($12.50 on monthly billing). Start a 7-day trial (no charge until day 8).
These guides pick up where this comparison stops: the rules for getting a bag to a customer, the numbers behind a fair price, and the other dry goods that sit well next to granola on one storefront.
