
The short version: Sell classic homemade biscotti for about $2.50 each as a single, $10 for a bag of six and $22 for a gift box of twelve, and add $1 a bag or $3 a box for pistachio or chocolate-dipped biscotti. That ladder sits close to what home vendors already charge: in a live pull of the Homegrown catalog on September 27, 2026, five biscotti listings that state their count worked out to $1.25 to $1.83 a biscotto, with a middle price of $1.67. A classic almond biscotto from America's Test Kitchen's recipe costs about 16 cents to make at Walmart.com prices checked the same day, and the almonds alone are 59% of that. Your nuts, your packaging and your time set the price, not your flour.
Checked September 27, 2026: biscotti prices on the order pages of Becky's Biscotti, Allure Bakery, Giorgio Cookie Company, Anita's Biscottis, Modern Pastry and Francesco's Bakery, supply and grocery biscotti prices on Walmart.com and WebstaurantStore, America's Test Kitchen's Almond Biscotti recipe, a live pull of Homegrown's catalog, California's cottage food pages and Texas's cottage food page, and the pricing pages of Homegrown, Square, Hotplate and Etsy, whose full fee stacks, card processing included, are in the fee table below. Two limits: store prices move weekly, and the batch hours below are our estimate, not a measurement. Homegrown customers create an account to place a first order, and Homegrown has no timed drop or countdown release.
Your aunt put a tin of your almond biscotti out at a family party, and now two cousins want a box for their offices. You are happy to bake them. Then someone asks what a box costs, and you realize you have been guessing.
Our own guide to selling biscotti says "price at a premium" and "don't underprice them like a basic cookie" and gives a method, but no dollar figures. The pages that do give a number, like $2 to $3 a biscotto, do not build it from store prices checked on a named day. That does not tell you whether $12 or $30 is the right price for a dozen. This guide builds the number from prices checked the day it was written: what home vendors on Homegrown charge, what bakeries charge, what a batch costs in almonds, flour and eggs, what the bag or box costs, and what card fees take from each order.
Sell classic homemade biscotti for $2.50 each, $10 for a bag of six and $22 for a gift box of twelve. Charge $1 more for a bag of six and $3 more for a box of twelve when you use pistachios or dip the bottoms in chocolate. Sell to a coffee shop for about $1.25 each, individually wrapped. Those prices assume a full-size biscotto, about the size America's Test Kitchen's recipe makes when two 8-by-3-inch loaves yield 30 cookies.
Here is the ladder most part-time biscotti vendors can start from:
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Biscotti | Amount | Suggested price | Per biscotto | When it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic almond, bagged | Single | $2.50 | $2.50 | Farmers market table, next to a coffee stand |
| Classic almond | Bag of 6 | $10.00 | $1.67 | Your everyday pre-order size |
| Classic almond | Gift box of 12 | $22.00 | $1.83 | Office gifts, hostess gifts, holidays |
| Pistachio or chocolate-dipped | Bag of 6 | $11.00 | $1.83 | Your upgrade flavor |
| Pistachio or chocolate-dipped | Gift box of 12 | $25.00 | $2.08 | Holiday boxes, teacher gifts |
| Classic almond, wrapped singly | Sold to a coffee shop | $1.25 | $1.25 | Wholesale, standing weekly order |
The ladder is our recommendation, built from the Homegrown catalog pull of September 27, 2026 (middle price $1.67 a biscotto across the five listings that state a count), six bakery and biscotti shop order pages loaded the same day ($1.67 to $2.96 a biscotto at each one's dozen or pound rate), and the cost build further down, which uses Walmart.com and WebstaurantStore supply prices from the same day.
Three things back that ladder:
If you are still working out which flavors to bake, how to package them and whether your state allows them, start with the companion guide on how to sell biscotti from home. Its pricing section tells you to price for your time and not to underprice biscotti like a basic cookie. This guide puts the numbers on it, each one with the date it was checked.
On September 27, 2026, six Homegrown vendors listed biscotti, and the five listings that state a count charged $1.25 to $1.83 a biscotto, with a middle price of $1.67. Biscotti are a small corner of the site. Out of 2,727 products from 308 vendors, 8 listings from 6 vendors are biscotti. These are listing prices, not sales, but they are the prices a shopper sees next to yours.
What Homegrown listings charge per biscotto, September 27, 2026
Source: Homegrown catalog, pulled live on September 27, 2026. Listing price divided by the count the listing states: 6 in a pack, 4 in a pack, or a dozen.
Here is how each one sets its price:

In a live pull of the Homegrown catalog on September 27, 2026, 8 of the 2,727 products listed by 308 vendors were biscotti, from 6 vendors. We matched on the product name and description, then opened every listing from each matching vendor and counted what each product actually was. We left out a Finnish-style cinnamon sugar toast rusk sold for dipping and a listing of pizzelle cookies. Bakery products made up 1,432 of the 2,727 listings.
The spread tells you something useful. The lowest per-biscotto price is a dozen for $15 from a shop that also sells fresh pasta and cookies. The highest is a pack of six for $11 from a sourdough baker with 29 listings. A new home vendor can start at $10 for six and move to $11 for flavors made with nuts.
Six bakeries and biscotti shops we checked on September 27, 2026 charged $1.67 to $2.96 a biscotto at their dozen or pound rate, and $20.00 to $35.50 a dozen at the four that sell by the dozen. The middle of the six is about $2.20 a biscotto. Small boxes cost more per piece: Anita's Biscottis charged $15 for a 4-piece box, or $3.75 each.
Swipe left to see the rest of the columns.
| Bakery or shop | Where | What | Price | Per biscotto |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Becky's Biscotti | Town not stated, order by request form | Any flavor, dozen, in a bakery box | $20.00 | $1.67 |
| Becky's Biscotti | Town not stated, order by request form | Gluten-free, dozen | $25.00 | $2.08 |
| Modern Pastry | Boston's North End | Almond biscotti, per pound (about 15) | $25.00 | $1.67 |
| Giorgio Cookie Company | Bellaire, OH | 12 individually wrapped, shipped | $25.00 | $2.08 |
| Allure Bakery | Williamsburg, VA | Single | $2.50 | $2.50 |
| Allure Bakery | Williamsburg, VA | Baker's dozen (13) | $30.00 | $2.31 |
| Anita's Biscottis | Sinking Spring, PA | 12 full-size in a craft box | $30.00 | $2.50 |
| Anita's Biscottis | Sinking Spring, PA | 4-piece box | $15.00 | $3.75 |
| Anita's Biscottis | Sinking Spring, PA | 12 mini biscotti | $18.00 | $1.50 |
| Francesco's Bakery | Hicksville, NY | Old-fashioned biscotti, dozen | $35.50 | $2.96 |
We loaded each business's own order page on September 27, 2026. Sales tax and shipping are not included. Modern Pastry sells by the pound and says a pound is about 15 cookies, so its per-biscotto price is an estimate.
What stands out once the prices sit side by side:
The takeaway: a home vendor at $20 to $22 a dozen sits at the low end of what bakeries charge, and a gift box at $25 is still below Anita's and Francesco's. You do not need to be the cheapest box on the table.
A 12-count box of Nonni's Originali Almond Biscotti cost $4.97 on Walmart.com on September 27, 2026, or about 41 cents a biscotto. That is the price a customer might have in their head.
The shelf prices, from the same Walmart.com search:
A customer who compares your $22 box to a $4.97 grocery box is not your customer. The people who order from you want biscotti baked this week by someone they know, often as a gift. Each Nonni's biscotto also weighs about 0.69 ounces, while a biscotto cut from a pound of 15 at Modern Pastry weighs about an ounce, so a grocery piece is smaller as well as cheaper. The grocery price matters for one reason: it is what a coffee shop could stock instead of yours, which comes up again in the wholesale section.
A classic almond biscotto from America's Test Kitchen's Almond Biscotti recipe costs about 16 cents to make at Walmart.com prices on September 27, 2026. A full batch of 30 costs about $4.92 in ingredients. The almonds are $2.89 of that.
The recipe is America's Test Kitchen's Almond Biscotti, which makes 30 cookies from two 8-by-3-inch loaves and lists every ingredient by weight. We priced each ingredient from the smallest everyday size on Walmart.com, mostly Great Value:
Swipe the table to see each ingredient's share.
| Ingredient | Amount in the recipe | Store price used | Cost per batch | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Whole natural almonds | 6 1/4 oz (177 g) | $6.48 for 14 oz | $2.89 | 58.8% |
| Eggs | 2 whole plus 1 white | $1.67 a dozen | $0.42 | 8.5% |
| Unsalted butter | 4 tablespoons (2 oz) | $3.06 a pound | $0.38 | 7.8% |
| Pure almond extract | 1 1/2 teaspoons | $2.87 for 2 fl oz | $0.36 | 7.3% |
| Sugar | 7 oz (198 g) | $2.97 for 4 lb | $0.33 | 6.6% |
| All-purpose flour | 8 3/4 oz (248 g) | $2.38 for 5 lb | $0.26 | 5.3% |
| Pure vanilla extract | 1/2 teaspoon | $5.12 for 2 fl oz | $0.21 | 4.3% |
| Baking powder | 2 teaspoons (8 g) | $1.98 for 8.1 oz | $0.07 | 1.4% |
| Salt | 1/4 teaspoon plus a pinch | $1.92 for 26 oz | under 1 cent | 0.1% |
| Batch of 30 | $4.92 | 100% |
Walmart.com prices loaded September 27, 2026 (store shown: Sandy Springs, GA). Baking powder is weighed at 4 grams a teaspoon, King Arthur's figure. The few cents of oil spray and parchment are not counted. Shares are of the $4.92 batch.
What this means per biscotto:
Other recipes change the count. Joy of Baking's almond biscotti makes about 40 thinner biscotti, and some bakers cut 24 bigger ones. Divide your batch cost by the number you actually sell, not the number the recipe promises.
Almonds are the biggest cost because they make up 59% of a classic almond batch: they cost 46.3 cents an ounce on Walmart.com on September 27, 2026, while flour cost 3 cents an ounce. In this recipe the flour costs 26 cents a batch, less than a tenth of what the almonds cost.
Here is why the nuts matter more than anything else you buy:
Because the nuts are more than half your batch cost, a jump in their price moves your cost far more than the same jump in flour would. We checked the $6.48 bag of Great Value whole almonds (14 ounces) on Walmart.com on September 27, 2026. Re-check your nut prices every few months, and if they climb, raise your box price before your margin shrinks.
One more lever: buying almonds in a bigger bag. The 25-ounce Great Value bag was $10.48 the same day, or 41.9 cents an ounce, which takes the almonds in a batch from $2.89 to about $2.62. A 30-ounce bag listed at the same $10.48 was out of stock that day. If you bake biscotti every week, the 25-ounce bag saves you about 1 cent a biscotto.
Charge $1 more for a bag of six and $3 more for a gift box of twelve when you use pistachios or dip biscotti in chocolate. Pistachios add about 13.5 cents a biscotto to your cost, and a chocolate dip adds about 6.4 cents.
The math behind the upgrade:
Home vendors already price this way. Pryority Sourdough on Homegrown charges $11 a pack of six for its Almond and Cranberry Pistachio biscotti and $10 for its Cranberry Orange pack, the one flavor whose listing names no nuts. The listings do not say why. Charge the extra $3 a box even though pistachios or a chocolate dip alone add less than $2 of ingredients. Dipping takes time, and the chocolate needs to set before you can pack the box.
Gluten-free biscotti deserve their own line too. Becky's Biscotti charges $25 a dozen for gluten-free against $20 for regular, a $5 step. Price your gluten-free line from its own cost build, since the flour swap changes the batch cost.
A bag of six biscotti with a twist tie and a label costs about 14 cents in packaging, and a kraft window box of twelve with a label costs about 67 cents. Because biscotti keep for weeks, the packaging also has to keep them crisp, so pick bags and boxes that close well.
What we priced on September 27, 2026:
Put together with the 16-cent biscotti:
The box costs about a third as much as the biscotti inside it. On September 27, 2026, a kraft window box and label came to about 67 cents, while the 12 biscotti inside cost about $1.97 in ingredients. A plain bag of six costs about 14 cents to pack. If a customer wants six biscotti as a gift, sell the bag of six for $10 and offer the box as a $3 upgrade, the way Anita's Biscottis adds $3 for a ribbon and gift card.
Your label also has a job beyond looking good. Biscotti made with butter, like the recipe priced here, carry four major allergens: tree nuts, eggs, wheat and milk. Texas, for example, requires major allergens on cottage food labels. The guide to cottage food labeling requirements walks through what goes on the label.
America's Test Kitchen lists its Almond Biscotti at 1 3/4 hours plus 50 minutes of cooling for 30 cookies, and a double batch of 60 with packaging takes about 3 hours by our estimate. Much of that is oven and cooling time, when you can pack the last batch or clean up.
The bake and cooling times come from the recipe. The toasting, mixing and packing times and the 3-hour total for a double batch are our estimate for a home kitchen with one oven, not something we timed.
Two things make biscotti easier on your schedule than most bakes:
A double batch of 60 classic almond biscotti sold as five $22 gift boxes brings in $110, and you keep about $92.10 after supplies and card fees. Over about 3 hours of work, that is about $30.70 an hour by our estimate.
Slide across for the hourly pay column.
| How you sell 60 biscotti | Revenue | Supplies | Card fees | You keep | Per hour, about 3 hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Five gift boxes of 12 at $22 | $110.00 | $13.21 | $4.69 | $92.10 | $30.70 |
| Four bags of 6 at $10, three boxes of 12 at $22 | $106.00 | $12.41 | $5.17 | $88.42 | $29.47 |
| 60 singles to a coffee shop at $1.25 | $75.00 | $16.22 | $0.00 | $58.78 | $19.59 |
Supplies use the Walmart.com and WebstaurantStore prices from September 27, 2026: 16.4 cents of ingredients a biscotto, plus each bag, tie, box and label. Card fees are Homegrown's 2.9% + $0.30 per order. The coffee shop row assumes an invoice paid by check or bank transfer, with each biscotto wrapped and labeled. Hours are our estimate. The coffee shop row uses the same 3 hours, but wrapping 60 singles one by one takes longer than filling 5 boxes, so its real hourly figure is lower than $19.59.
What the table tells you:
The pay per hour does not count your time planning, marketing or standing at a market. The real cost of selling at farmers markets adds booth fees and the rest of a market day to these numbers.
Sell all three, but make the bag of six your everyday product and the box of twelve your gift product. Each size does a different job, and each has a different cost to pack.
How each size works for a part-time vendor:
A good table setup at a market: a basket of wrapped singles in front, bags of six stacked beside it, and one open gift box on display with a sign that says it can be pre-ordered.
Charge a coffee shop about $1.25 a biscotto, individually wrapped and labeled. At that price the shop can sell each one for $2.50, what Allure Bakery charged for a single on September 27, 2026, and keep half.
Why $1.25 works for both sides:
Before you pitch, check how your state treats selling to a business. Some cottage food laws allow only direct sales to the person who eats the food, and some allow sales through shops. California splits cottage food operators into two classes, and only Class B can sell through restaurants and food markets. In Texas, the Department of State Health Services cottage food page says you can sell at wholesale only to a registered cottage food vendor, so the coffee shop has to register with DSHS, post a sign saying the food was made in a private residence, and sell biscotti labeled with the date they were made. The guide on getting your food into a local coffee shop covers the pitch, and the guide to wholesale pricing for food products shows the math for any wholesale account.
Price holiday gift boxes of twelve at $22 for classic flavors and $25 for pistachio or chocolate-dipped, offer a $3 ribbon and card upgrade, and take pre-orders by a set cutoff date. Biscotti keep for weeks, which lets you bake ahead for December.
How to set up a holiday biscotti run:
The guide to holiday gift boxes for a food business covers pricing, assembly, pre-orders and a season timeline in more detail.
Pre-orders tell you exactly how many bags and boxes to pack, so you bake to an order count instead of a guess. Biscotti keep longer than most bakes, but not forever. America's Test Kitchen gives them up to a month in an airtight container, and a box that sits on your counter for three weeks is not the box you want a customer to open as a gift.
Every unsold box also ties up money. Twelve biscotti in a labeled box cost you about $2.64, and a pistachio box about $4.26, before your hours.
Homegrown is a storefront built for this: $10 per month billed annually ($12.50 billed monthly) with no percentage fees beyond standard payment processing. Customers order and pay ahead for a pickup time you set, so on Friday night you know you need four boxes and nine bags, not a guess. Compare that to taking gift orders through Instagram DMs, where you track flavors and box counts across a dozen conversations and chase payments after. Or compare it to Etsy, which charges a $0.20 listing fee, a 6.5% transaction fee and 3% + $0.25 payment processing, about $2.54 on a $22 box, against 94 cents in card processing on Homegrown plus the $10 monthly plan.
What Homegrown gives a biscotti vendor:
What it does not do: Homegrown does not set your prices, check your cottage food permit, or bake anything. Its signup page lists pickup and delivery, not mail shipping, so if your state lets you mail biscotti, you handle the shipping yourself. Customers create a Homegrown account to place their first order. There is no timed drop or countdown release. Your storefront is listed on the Homegrown marketplace, but plan on most orders coming from people you send to your own link.
If you bake biscotti in batches and keep guessing how many boxes to fill, set up a Homegrown storefront and take this month's biscotti orders ahead of time. You will know your count before you toast the almonds.
On a $22 gift box, card processing takes about 94 cents on Homegrown, plus its $10 monthly plan, and $1.03 on Square's free plan online, while Etsy's listing, transaction and processing fees take about $2.54 and Hotplate takes $2.59 if you cover its fee yourself. Every platform charges something on each card payment, so build it into your price.
Swipe to see every fee.
| Platform | Monthly plan | Trial | Service, listing or platform fee | Card processing | Customer pays on a $22 box | Vendor pays on a $22 box | Vendor pays in a month of 50 boxes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homegrown | $10 billed annually ($12.50 billed monthly) | 7 days, no charge until day 8 | None, 0% commission | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by the vendor | $22.00 | $0.94 plus the plan | $56.90 ($59.40 on monthly billing) |
| Square Free, online checkout | $0 | No plan to trial | None | 3.3% + 30¢ online (2.6% + 15¢ tap, dip or swipe) | $22.00 | $1.03 | $51.30 |
| Hotplate, customer pays the fee | $0, no monthly subscription | No plan to trial | 5% + $0.55, paid by the customer | 2.9% + $0.30, vendor pays | $23.65 | $0.94 | $46.90 |
| Hotplate, vendor covers the fee | $0, no monthly subscription | No plan to trial | 5% + $0.55, paid by the vendor | 2.9% + $0.30, also vendor-paid | $22.00 | $2.59 | $129.40 |
| Etsy | $0, no subscription (a one-time set-up fee may apply) | No plan to trial | $0.20 listing fee plus 6.5% transaction fee | 3% + $0.25, paid by the vendor | $22.00 plus any shipping | $2.54 | $127.00 |
We checked Homegrown's signup page, Square's online store plans page, Hotplate's pricing page and Etsy's fee and payments policies on September 27, 2026. Card processing here is figured on the $22 price. Etsy takes its processing fee on the total including tax and shipping and charges its transaction fee on shipping too, and any platform that charges on the full total runs a few cents higher. The Etsy row assumes each sale renews the $0.20 listing and no Offsite Ads fee applies. When Hotplate's fee is passed to customers, they pay $82.50 in service fees in that 50-box month, on top of your prices.
What this means for your price:
Cash at a market table skips the card fee, but pre-orders paid by card are what let you bake to a known count.
Biscotti are a baked good with no cream, custard or meat, the kind of food cottage food rules are built around, but whether you can mail them depends on your state. California and Texas show how far apart two states can be.
California. The California Department of Public Health's Approved Cottage Foods list (last reviewed April 2026) does not name biscotti, but it names cookies in category 1, "Baked Goods Without Cream, Custard, or Meat Fillings." Its Cottage Food Operations page says a direct sale "may be fulfilled in person, via mail delivery, or using any other third-party delivery service." CDPH's 2026 adjusted sales limit PDF sets the cap at $88,878 a year for Class A and $177,756 for Class B, effective January 1, 2026, even though the web page still shows $75,000 and $150,000. We checked all three on September 27, 2026.
Texas. The Texas Department of State Health Services cottage food page, checked the same day, says cottage food sold online must be personally delivered to the customer by the operator, an employee or a household member. That rules out mailing biscotti you sell online from a Texas home kitchen under the cottage food rules. Texas also says a cottage food operator can sell at wholesale only to a registered cottage food vendor, and its annual gross income threshold is $150,000.
What that means for your price list:
Other states write their own rules, and some do not allow mail at all. The guide on whether you can ship cottage food covers the questions to ask. Verify your state's current rules with your state or county health department before you set up a price list. This article is general information, not legal advice.
Charge about $22 for a gift box of twelve classic almond biscotti, and about $25 for pistachio or chocolate-dipped. That is $1.83 a biscotto, between Becky's Biscotti at $20 a dozen and Anita's Biscottis at $30 on September 27, 2026. Twelve biscotti in a labeled kraft box cost you about $2.64 to make and pack.
A batch of 30 classic almond biscotti costs about $4.92 in ingredients, based on America's Test Kitchen's recipe at Walmart.com prices on September 27, 2026, or about 16 cents a biscotto. The almonds are $2.89 of that batch. Made with pistachios instead, the batch costs about $8.97.
Sell a single homemade biscotto for about $2.50, bagged and labeled. Allure Bakery charged $2.50 for a single biscotto on September 27, 2026, and a bagged single costs you about 27 cents. Singles sell best at a farmers market next to someone selling coffee.
Sell biscotti at a farmers market for about $2.50 each and $10 for a bag of six to take home. Keep a few gift boxes of twelve at $22 on display for customers shopping for a gift. Take pre-orders for boxes so you know how many to bake before market day.
Biscotti can seem expensive because of the nuts and the double bake. Almonds made up 59% of a classic batch's ingredient cost on September 27, 2026, and each batch is baked twice with a cooling and slicing step in between. Even so, homemade biscotti cost about 16 cents each in ingredients, so most of the $1.67 to $2.96 a biscotto that the six bakeries we checked charged pays for time, packaging and profit.
Charge a coffee shop about $1.25 a biscotto, wrapped and labeled one by one. The shop can then sell each one for about $2.50 and keep half. Check your state's cottage food rules first, since some states limit sales to businesses.
These five guides answer the next questions most biscotti vendors have once the price is set. Read the shipping guide first if you plan to mail biscotti, since California allows mail delivery for cottage food sales and Texas requires online sales to be delivered in person. Read the coffee shop guide before you pitch a café on a $1.25 wholesale price, and the labeling guide before you print your first 120 labels: cottage food labeling requirements lists what each label needs.
Your biscotti are worth more than a grocery box because they were baked this week by someone your customers know. Price them for that, bake to your order count, and start taking biscotti pre-orders on Homegrown this week.
