
The short version: Sell a classic 9-inch homemade cheesecake for about $45, a flavored or topped one for $50 to $55, a slice for $7, and a 4-ounce cheesecake jar for $7. A 9-inch cheesecake costs about $13.97 to make at today's Walmart prices, box and board included, so at $45 you keep about $29 a cake after the card fee. The 6 cheesecake listings from 4 vendors on Homegrown have a median of $25 and none states a size, so if $25 buys a 9-inch cake, it pays about $10 an hour by our estimate. Before you set any price, check that your state lets you sell cheesecake from home at all, because many states leave it out of their cottage food rules.
Checked September 24, 2026: cheesecake prices on the pages of four bakeries (Plate of Cake, Arie's Artisan Cheesecake, The Cheesecake Girl and The Cheesecake Boutique), grocery cheesecake and supply prices on Walmart.com, Sally's Baking Addiction's classic cheesecake recipe, a live pull of Homegrown's catalog, and the pricing pages of Homegrown, Hotplate and Square. Honest bounds: store prices move weekly, and the hours below are our estimate, not a measurement. Homegrown customers create an account to place a first order, and Homegrown has no timed drop or countdown release.
Someone at your church potluck tried your cheesecake and wants one for her daughter's graduation. Then her sister wants one for Thanksgiving. You need a price to text back, and cheesecake is not a cookie: four blocks of cream cheese go into every cake, and it has to stay cold from your oven to their table.
Most cheesecake pricing advice gives a range like "$35 to $65" and stops. A range does not tell you where your cake fits. This guide builds the price from numbers checked the day it was written: what small vendors and bakeries actually charge, what a cake costs you, how long it takes, what the fridge adds, and what card fees take.
Sell a classic 9-inch homemade cheesecake for $45, a flavored or topped 9-inch for $50 to $55, a 6-inch for $25, and single slices or 4-ounce jars for $7 each. Mini cheesecakes the size of a cupcake fit at $36 a dozen, near what cheesecake bakeries charge for minis that are bite-size or do not state a size. Those prices assume a baked New York style cheesecake with a graham cracker crust, made from a standard recipe.
Here is the price ladder most part-time cheesecake vendors can start from:
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Cheesecake | Size | Suggested price | Your cost to make | When it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Classic New York style | Whole 9-inch, 12 slices | $45 | $13.97 | Birthdays, holidays, family dinners |
| Flavored or topped (strawberry, turtle, cookies and cream) | Whole 9-inch | $50 to $55 | About $15 to $18, our estimate | The cake people order for an occasion |
| Classic | Whole 6-inch | $25 | About $8.25 | Couples, small households, a first order |
| Classic | One slice in a clear container | $7 | $1.62 | Market table, lunch crowd, a taste before a whole cake |
| Cheesecake jar | 4 ounces | $7 | $1.72 | Pickup menus, farmers market coolers |
| Mini cheesecakes | Cupcake size, dozen | $36 | About $5.30 before the box, our rough estimate | Parties, office trays, gift boxes |
| Custom or event cheesecake | Any | Quoted, with a deposit | Varies | Weddings, showers, large orders |
The ladder is our recommendation. It is built from the Homegrown catalog pull of September 24, 2026 (median $25), four bakery price pages loaded the same day ($55.99 to $76.99 for a whole cheesecake, $9 a slice), and the cost build further down, which uses Walmart.com supply prices from the same day. The 6-inch, flavored and mini costs are our estimates, scaled from the 9-inch build.
Three things back that ladder:
If you are still working out formats, flavors and how to keep cheesecake safe on the way to a customer, start with the companion guide on how to sell cheesecake from home, which covers the rules, the formats that sell and shipping. This guide picks up where its pricing section stops: the per-cake math, with today's prices in it.
On September 24, 2026, vendors on Homegrown listed cheesecakes at $20 to $40, with a median of $25. That is less than half of what cheesecake bakeries charge for a whole cake. None of the six listings states a size, so a customer cannot tell whether $25 buys a 6-inch or a 9-inch cake.
Cheesecake listing prices on Homegrown, September 24, 2026
Source: live pull of the Homegrown catalog, September 24, 2026, every product with "cheesecake" in the name that is sold as a cheesecake rather than a cheesecake-flavored product. None states a size. 6 listings from 4 vendors: Once Upon A Batter Bakery (Keto), Divine Destiny Desserts (Double Crust, Oreo), Seriously Sourdough (Classic, Pumpkin) and Savory Culinary Creations (Plain). Widths are the price divided by $40.
In a pull of the Homegrown catalog on September 24, 2026, 10 of the 2,637 products listed by 300 vendors had "cheesecake" in the name, from 7 vendors. Six were listed as a cheesecake with no size or slice count given, from 4 vendors, priced $20, $22, $25, $25, $35 and $40. The other four were cheesecake-flavored products: two 6-packs of cheesecake buns at $35, a blueberry cheesecake sourdough loaf at $13 and a strawberry cheesecake boli at $4. Cheesecake is rare on Homegrown, which means few other vendors list it next to yours.
What the listings teach you:

Cheesecake bakeries charged $55.99 to $76.99 for a whole cheesecake and $9 for a single slice on September 24, 2026. That is the price your customer compares you to when they have bought cheesecake before. It is not a price you have to match, but it shows how much room sits above $25.
Swipe sideways for the price per slice.
| Bakery | Where | What | Price | Per slice or piece |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plate of Cake | Jersey City, NJ and East Harlem, NYC | Whole New York Style, 9-inch, serves 12 to 16 | $55.99 | $3.50 to $4.67 |
| Plate of Cake | Jersey City, NJ and East Harlem, NYC | Whole Pistachio, 9-inch | $59.99 | $3.75 to $5.00 |
| Arie's Artisan Cheesecake | Augusta, GA | Whole Original (size not stated) | $72.99 | Not stated |
| Arie's Artisan Cheesecake | Augusta, GA | Whole Triple Chocolate or Strawberry Crunch | $76.99 | Not stated |
| The Cheesecake Girl | Columbus, OH area | Original cheesecake slice | $9.00 | $9.00 |
| The Cheesecake Girl | Columbus, OH area | Bite-size mini cheesecakes, 12 in the shop | $45.00 | $3.75 |
| The Cheesecake Boutique | Fayetteville, GA | Classic Original Mini Cheesecakes, 12 count | $35.00 | $2.92 |
We checked every price on the bakery's own website on September 24, 2026. Per slice for Plate of Cake is the whole price divided by 16 and by 12, the serving range the bakery gives. Bakery prices change with the season and do not include delivery.
Plate of Cake's whole cheesecakes are a useful anchor because the page states the size and the servings next to the price: 9 inches, 12 to 16 people, from $55.99. That is the kind of listing you want your own customers to see.
What to take from the bakery prices:
A grocery store cheesecake cost $6.72 to $13.92 on Walmart.com on September 24, 2026, and the 12-slice cheesecake works out to about $1.16 a slice. Nobody buying from a home baker is choosing between you and a $6.72 grocery cheesecake. They are choosing between you and a bakery, or you and making one themselves.
Swipe left to see how each cheesecake is sold.
| Walmart.com cheesecake | Size | Price | How it is sold |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freshness Guaranteed New York Style Cheesecake | 16 oz, 6-inch | $6.72 | Refrigerated |
| Freshness Guaranteed New York Style Full Cheesecake | 40 oz, 12 count | $13.92 | Refrigerated, pre-sliced |
| Edwards Frozen Original Whipped Cheesecake | 24 oz | $7.24 | Frozen |
| Sara Lee French Style Strawberry Cheesecake | 7-inch, 26 oz | $6.77 | Frozen |
| Marketside Variety Cheesecake | 16 oz, 8 slices | $7.98 | Refrigerated |
Prices from Walmart.com search results on September 24, 2026. The per-slice figure is $13.92 divided by the 12 slices in the Full Cheesecake.
Why this matters for your price:
A classic 9-inch cheesecake costs about $13.97 to make with store-brand cream cheese, or $17.95 with Philadelphia, including foil, a cake board, a windowed box and a label. Ingredients alone are $10.30 with store brand. We built it from Sally's Baking Addiction's classic cheesecake recipe, which uses 32 ounces of cream cheese, serves 12 to 16 and bakes in a 9-inch springform pan.
Scroll right for the cost in one cheesecake.
| What goes in | Amount | Walmart.com price | Cost in one cheesecake |
|---|---|---|---|
| Great Value cream cheese | 32 oz (two 2-packs) | $2.97 per 2-pack | $5.94 |
| Kellogg's graham cracker crumbs | 180 g | $3.52 for 13.5 oz | $1.66 |
| Great Value sour cream | 240 g (1 cup) | $1.84 for 16 oz | $0.97 |
| Great Value unsalted butter | 71 g (5 tablespoons) | $3.06 for 16 oz | $0.48 |
| Great Value vanilla extract | 1 teaspoon | $5.12 for 2 fl oz | $0.43 |
| Great Value large eggs | 3 | $1.67 a dozen | $0.42 |
| Great Value sugar | 250 g (crust and filling) | $2.97 for 4 lb | $0.41 |
| Ingredients | $10.30 | ||
| Heavy duty foil for the water bath | About 4 sq ft | $4.83 for 50 sq ft | $0.39 |
| 10-inch cake board | 1 | $5.88 for 10 | $0.59 |
| White cake box with a window | 1 | $5.24 for 2 | $2.62 |
| 2-inch round label | 1 | $8.87 for 120 | $0.07 |
| Total, boxed | $13.97 |
Supply prices from Walmart.com on September 24, 2026. Amounts from Sally's Baking Addiction's Classic Cheesecake recipe, loaded the same day. The optional lemon juice, your oven's power and your springform pan ($18.97 for a Wilton 9-inch) are left out.
Cut a 9-inch cheesecake into 12 slices, not 16, when you sell by the slice. Sally's recipe serves 12 to 16, so 12 is the generous end of that range. It is still smaller than a $9 shop slice: The Cheesecake Girl says its 9-inch cake serves 8 to 10, so price your slice below theirs and say "cut 12 per cake" in the listing. Dip your knife in warm water and wipe it between cuts, as the recipe says, so every slice in the case has clean sides.
What the cost build tells you:
Cream cheese is 58% of your ingredient cost with store brand and 69% with Philadelphia, so the brand you buy moves your cost by about $4 a cake. Four 8-ounce blocks go into every 9-inch cheesecake. At Walmart.com on September 24, 2026, a Great Value 2-pack was $2.97 and a Philadelphia 2-pack was $4.96.
How the cream cheese choice plays out:
Price swings matter more with cheesecake than with bread or cookies, because one ingredient is most of the cost. Check the price of cream cheese every time you restock, and if a 2-pack jumps a dollar, that is $2 more per cake. The four-number formula in how to price baked goods works for cheesecake too: ingredients, packaging, your time and your overhead, with a margin on top.
Ways to hold the cost down without changing the recipe:
Four 9-inch cheesecakes take about 4 hours of your hands-on time by our estimate, and each round of cakes needs close to 8 hours from start to chilled because of baking, cooling and chilling. The waiting is what makes cheesecake different: Sally's recipe bakes for 55 to 70 minutes, rests an hour in the turned-off oven, then chills at least 4 hours, and lists 7 hours 45 minutes in total.
Here is our estimate of a 4-cake baking day:
That adds up to 240 minutes, or 4 hours. If you sell those four cakes at $45, you keep $117.70 after supplies and card fees, which is about $29 an hour. At $25 a cake, the same day pays about $10 an hour.
A classic 9-inch cheesecake keeps you $10.01 at $25, $29.43 at $45 and $48.85 at $65, after the $13.97 cost and the card fee. The jump from the Homegrown median of $25 to the suggested $45 nearly triples what each cake pays you.
Swipe to see what four cakes pay per hour.
| Price of a 9-inch cheesecake | Card fee (2.9% + $0.30) | Cost to make, boxed | You keep per cake | You keep on 4 cakes | Per hour (4 hours) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $25 | $1.03 | $13.97 | $10.01 | $40.02 | $10.01 |
| $35 | $1.32 | $13.97 | $19.72 | $78.86 | $19.72 |
| $45 | $1.61 | $13.97 | $29.43 | $117.70 | $29.43 |
| $55 | $1.90 | $13.97 | $39.14 | $156.54 | $39.14 |
| $65 | $2.19 | $13.97 | $48.85 | $195.38 | $48.85 |
Card fee is Homegrown's 2.9% + $0.30 per order, checked on findhomegrown.com/signup on September 24, 2026, with one cheesecake per order. Cost is the store-brand build above. The 4 hours is our estimate. Booth fees, delivery and any storefront subscription are not included.
What the table says:
Selling a 9-inch cheesecake as 12 slices at $7 keeps you about $58.48, against $29.43 for the same cake sold whole at $45. Slices earn more per cake but cost more work: 12 containers, 12 labels, and usually 12 separate customers.
Scroll sideways for what 12 slices keep you.
| Price per slice | Card fee per slice | Cost per slice, in a container | You keep per slice | You keep on 12 slices |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $6 | $0.47 | $1.62 | $3.90 | $46.82 |
| $7 | $0.50 | $1.62 | $4.87 | $58.48 |
| $8 | $0.53 | $1.62 | $5.84 | $70.13 |
| $9 | $0.56 | $1.62 | $6.81 | $81.78 |
Cost per slice is one twelfth of the ingredients and foil ($0.89), a clear cake slice container ($13.19 for 20 on Walmart.com, $0.66) and a label ($0.07), priced September 24, 2026. Card fee is 2.9% + $0.30 per slice, one slice per order.
When each format makes sense:
A card payment on a single $7 slice costs 50 cents at 2.9% + $0.30, which is 7.2% of the sale. On a $45 whole cheesecake the same fee structure takes $1.61, 3.6%. We checked those rates on findhomegrown.com/signup on September 24, 2026. If you sell slices by card online, offer a 2-slice option, or sell them at a market table where a tapped card on Square's Free plan costs 2.6% + 15 cents.
Price 4-ounce cheesecake jars at $7 each and cupcake-size mini cheesecakes at $36 a dozen. A jar costs you about $1.72, glass jar and label included, and at $7 you keep $4.78 a jar after the card fee. The Cheesecake Boutique sells a classic dozen for $35 and does not state the size. The Cheesecake Girl's $45 dozen is for bite-size minis, a smaller piece than a cupcake-size mini, so it is not a like-for-like price.
How we got the jar and mini numbers:
Jars travel better than slices because the lid seals, and customers can eat them straight from the jar. If jars are your main format, the ideas in selling cake in a jar carry over.
Charge $5 to $10 more for a flavored or topped 9-inch cheesecake, $25 for a 6-inch classic, and quote custom cakes with a deposit. A 6-inch pan holds about 44% of a 9-inch pan's filling at the same depth (6 squared against 9 squared, 36 against 81, or about 28 square inches of base against 64), so the 6-inch costs about $8.25 with its box and board, by our estimate.
Price adjustments that hold up:
For custom and event orders, a deposit protects your cream cheese money before you bake. The guide on taking deposits and partial payments for custom food orders covers how much to ask for and when.
Refrigeration adds cost in fridge space, a cooler for every delivery, and, in many states, rented kitchen time, and rented time can wipe out your margin at $45. Cheesecake is a food that must stay cold to stay safe. In Texas, the state health department says those foods must be stored and delivered cold enough to stay at 41°F or below.
Here is what a rented commercial kitchen does to the $45 cake. Kitchen rates vary by city, so plug in your own quote:
If you bake in a rented kitchen, you need either a bigger batch per session or a bakery-level price. Other refrigeration costs to account for:
Bake whole cheesecakes only to paid pre-orders, and turn any cake that is not picked up into 12 slices the same day. A 9-inch cheesecake that nobody collects costs you $13.97 in supplies and about an hour of your time, and after 4 days in the fridge it is not worth selling. With cheesecake, one no-show eats about half of what the next cake pays you ($13.97 of the $29.43), plus the hour you spent on it.
Pre-orders are the fix that works. When customers pay before you bake, you know exactly how many classic and how many strawberry to make, and every cake in your fridge already has a name on it. The step-by-step setup is in how to take pre-orders for your food business.
That is the problem a Homegrown storefront is built for. It is $10 per month billed annually (or $12.50 billed monthly) with no percentage fees beyond standard payment processing, and it gives you one link where customers pick a whole cake, a 6-inch or a set of jars, choose a flavor, pay, and see when to pick up. On Wednesday night you open your orders and see every paid cake for the weekend, so Thursday's cream cheese run is exact.
How that compares to what cheesecake vendors usually use:
What a Homegrown storefront does for a cheesecake vendor:
What it does not do: it will not keep cheesecake cold during the drive to your customer, it does not tell you whether your state allows cheesecake from a home kitchen, it has no timed drop or countdown release, and customers create a Homegrown account to place their first order. Your storefront is listed on the marketplace, but plan on most orders coming from people you send to your own link. If knowing your exact cake count before you buy cream cheese sounds better than guessing, you can set up your storefront and post this weekend's cheesecake menu in an evening.
Card fees take $1.32 to $1.79 from a $45 cheesecake, depending on how the customer pays, and on one pre-order app the customer pays an extra $2.80 on top. That is small next to your price, but across 20 cakes a month the fees run $26 to $36, and it decides whether your customer sees a surprise fee at checkout.
Swipe to see the remaining columns.
| How you take the order | Subscription | Trial | Platform fee | Card processing | Customer pays on a $45 cheesecake | You pay on a $45 cheesecake | You pay on 20 cheesecakes in a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homegrown storefront | $10/mo billed annually, or $12.50/mo billed monthly | 7 days, no charge until day 8 | $0 (0% commission) | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by you | $45.00 | $1.61 | $32.10 + $10 subscription = $42.10 |
| Hotplate, default | $0 (no plan fee listed) | None needed, no plan to pay for | 5% + $0.55, paid by the customer ($2.80) | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by you | $47.80 | $1.61 | $32.10 (your customers pay another $56.00) |
| Hotplate, you cover the fee | $0 (no plan fee listed) | None needed, no plan to pay for | 5% + $0.55, paid by you ($2.80) | 2.9% + $0.30, paid by you | $45.00 | $4.41 | $88.10 |
| Square Free plan, online order | $0 | None needed, free plan | $0 | 3.3% + 30¢, paid by you | $45.00 | $1.79 | $35.70 |
| Square Free plan, card tapped at the market | $0 | None needed, free plan | $0 | 2.6% + 15¢, paid by you | $45.00 | $1.32 | $26.40 |
| Cash at pickup | $0 | n/a | $0 | $0 | $45.00 | $0.00 | $0 (no-show risk is yours) |
We checked these on each company's pricing page on September 24, 2026: findhomegrown.com/signup, hotplate.com/pricing and Square's fee page for the Free plan. Card processing is figured on the $45 price. One cheesecake per order is assumed. Fees on tips, taxes and delivery are left out.
Three things matter more than the pennies:
In many states you cannot sell cheesecake made in a home kitchen, because it needs refrigeration, but some states now allow it with extra steps. That matters for price, because a cheesecake you cannot bake at home usually has to be baked in a licensed commercial kitchen, often a rented one, under a food business license or permit from your state or county, and paying for kitchen time by the hour changes every number above.
Two states show the range:
What to check before you set a price:
The deeper explainer on which refrigerated foods home vendors can sell is can you sell TCS foods under cottage food law. Rules change and vary by state and county, so verify your state's current rules before you sell your first cheesecake.
Charge about $45 for a classic 9-inch homemade cheesecake and $50 to $55 for a flavored or topped one. Supplies for a boxed 9-inch cake come to $13.97 at Walmart.com prices checked September 24, 2026, so $45 keeps you about $29 after the card fee. Cheesecake bakeries charged $55.99 to $76.99 the same day.
Sell a slice for $6 to $9, with $7 as a good starting price. Cut a 9-inch cake into 12 slices, and each slice costs about $1.62 in a clear container with a label. A cheesecake shop in the Columbus, Ohio area charged $9 for an original slice on September 24, 2026.
A classic 9-inch cheesecake costs about $10.30 in ingredients with store-brand cream cheese, or $14.28 with Philadelphia, at Walmart.com prices checked September 24, 2026. Add foil, a cake board, a windowed box and a label, and the total is $13.97, or $17.95 with Philadelphia. Cream cheese is more than half of the ingredient cost either way.
Sell cupcake-size mini cheesecakes for about $36 a dozen, or $3 each. A cheesecake bakery in Fayetteville, Georgia sold a classic dozen for $35 without stating the size, and one near Columbus, Ohio sold bite-size minis at $3.95 each or $45 for 12, both checked September 24, 2026. Minis fit party trays and gift boxes, the way The Cheesecake Boutique sells them.
For a 9-inch cheesecake, yes. At $25 you keep about $10 after the $13.97 cost and the card fee, which is roughly $10 an hour by our estimate. $25 is a fair price for a 6-inch cheesecake, which costs about $8.25 to make.
Yes, most home bakers should, because a cheesecake uses 32 ounces of cream cheese and has to stay cold from your oven to the customer. Cream cheese alone is $5.94 of the $13.97 a boxed 9-inch cake costs you, and four boxed cakes fill most of a fridge shelf. Cheesecake bakeries charged $55.99 and up for a whole cake on September 24, 2026.
These six guides cover the rules, storage, the pricing formula and two other formats:
Vendors on Homegrown list cheesecake at a median of $25, and moving a 9-inch cake to $45 nearly triples what each one pays you. If a paid pre-order page for your weekend cheesecakes sounds easier than a week of texts, you can start your Homegrown storefront and post this weekend's cakes tonight.
